

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS INCORPORATED

Charter Affiliate of the New York State Association of Professional Land Surveyors

P.O. Box 4399, Clifton Park, NY 12065-4399

Visit us on the web at www.envsls.org

MINUTES

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING November 9, 2023

The Factory Ballston Spa. NY

President Meisler called the meeting to order at 5:41 p.m.

Present: Lawrence O'Connor, Kaleb Winters, Richard Palmer, Brie Meisler, Dwayne Cooper, James Vianna

and Luke Richardson

Absent: Lucas Boyer, Jason Tommell, Ashley Metz, Randy Paquin and Jason Peterson

Secretary's Report: Jason Tommell

- Jason was absent but previously submitted the proposed November minutes via email to the BOD. A motion
 to accept the November meeting minutes was made by Jim Vianna, seconded by Rick Palmer. A vote was
 held, and the motion passed.
- It was also noted that the final September minutes are waiting on details from Jason Peterson.

Treasurer's Report: Jim Vianna

- Jim provided an update on the LPL account balance and the Bank account balance.
- There were expenses of \$213.71 for the October BOD meeting and \$250.00 for a deposit to the Factory.
- Income in the amount of \$180 (NYSAPLS dues).
- A motion to reimburse Jason Tommell for the annual meeting mailing expenses in the amount of \$283.51 was made by Kaleb Winters, seconded by Rick Palmer. A vote was held, and the motion passed.
- A motion to reimburse Jason Peterson for fees he paid for the September meeting second showing of NYSAPLS webinar in the amount of \$110 was made by Larry O'Connor, seconded by Kaleb Winters. A vote was held, and the motion passed.
- Jim reported that he would be submitting the Journal Ad to NYSAPLS before the deadline.

MTS Report: Jim Vianna

Jim reported that there will be a meeting on November 15th. There was nothing new to report.

President's Report: Brie Meisler

- Ashley Metz would like to resign from the BOD. A motion to fill the remainder of her vacant Associate Member positions term with the runner-up Associate Member from voting results was made by Kaleb Winters, seconded by Luke Richardson. A vote was held, and the motion passed.
- Brie announced that she will be attending the upcoming NYSAPLS virtual BOD meeting and said if anyone has any issues or concerns that they would like her to raise at the meeting to contact her.

Executive Vice President's Report: Jason Peterson

No report.

Vice President's Report: Lucas Boyer

No report.

Past President's Report: Kaleb Winters

No report.

Standing Committee Reports

Calibration Base Line (ad hoc): Randy Paquin and Rick Palmer

Constitution and By-Laws: Larry O'Connor

Continuing Education: Jody Lounsbury, Charles Lent and Eric Crampton

Ethical Practices: Larry O'Connor, Jeff Ostertag and Charles Lent

Finance: Carl Rigdon and Chris Czerw

Legislative: Larry O'Connor

Program: Randy Paquin

Public Relations: Jody Lounsbury, Eric Crampton and Brie Meisler

Scholastic Development: Randy Paquin and Kristen Darrah

Business Practice and Technical Information: Chris Czerw

Membership: Robert Wilklow and Steve Dickson

Website: Brie Meisler, Dwayne Cooper and Charles Lent

Old Business:

September minutes are waiting on details from Jason Peterson to finalize.

New Business:

Nominated Officer Positions for 2024:

President:
 Exec. Vice President:
 Vice President:
 Treasurer:
 Secretary:
 Brie Meisler
 Jason Peterson
 Lucas Boyer
 James Vianna
 Dwayne Cooper

The slate will be presented to the general membership and a vote will be held.

- President Meisler appointed Kaleb Winters and Luke Richardson as Tellers for the Annual Election results.
- Conversation was held regarding the upcoming NYSAPLS Annual Conference. It was noted that there are still rooms available and that the early bird discount ends December 11th. It was noted that the prices had gone up considerably, especially for unlicensed attendees.

Upcoming Events:

- 11/15/2023, 10:00 am <u>Davis-Bacon Webinar</u>, hosted by Illinois PLS Association
- 11/17/2023 NYSAPLS Board of Directors Meeting, virtual
- 12/1/2023, 8:30am, Friday Webinar NYS Worker's Compensation: What you need to know! By Walt Peretti
- 1/17/2024, NYSAPLS 65TH Annual Conference, Turning Stone Resort & Casino

A motion to temporarily adjourn the meeting was made by Jim Vianna, seconded by Kaleb Winters. A vote was held, and the motion passed.

- President Meisler called the meeting back to order at 7:50 pm. She announced the results of the Annual Election. Senior Members elected to a 3-year term were: Ralph Hill, Larry O'Connor and Dave Schmidt. Associate Member Rick Palmer was elected to a 3-year term and Associate Member Tim Huggins will fill the remainder of Ashley Metz's vacant position (expires 2024).
- President Meisler presented the proposed slate of officers (as presented in New Business) to the general membership. A motion to accept the slate of officers was made by Larry O'Connor, seconded by Dave Schmidt. A vote was held, and the motion passed.
- President Meisler introduced the speaker for the evening.
 - Saratoga County Historian Lauren Roberts gave a presentation titled: Harnessing Nature: Building the Great Sacandaga. This presentation chronicles the 1930 creation of the Great Sacandaga Lake, New York State's largest reservoir. Roberts will describe the reasons behind New York's decision to create the reservoir and the sacrifices valley residents made for the "greater good". It is a story of heartbreak, rebirth and remarkable engineering. A video of the original publication, "Harnessing Nature" that was made for PBS is available on youtube.
- A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Ralph Hill, seconded by Kaleb Winters was made. A vote was held, and the motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:44 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dwayne Cooper for Jason Tommell, ENYSLS Secretary

Treasurer: James Vianna

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS, INC.

Lawrence O'Connor 2023 2024 2025 President: Brie Meisler Lucas Bover Dwavne Cooper Exec. Vice-President: Jason Peterson 2023 2025 Pat VanHaverbeke **Brie Meisler** 2024 Jason Peterson Kaleb Winters 2023 Jason Tommell 2024 James Vianna 2025 Vice-President: Lucas Bover Richard Palmer 2023 Ashley Metz 2024 Luke Richardson 2025 Secretary: Jason Tommell