

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS INCORPORATED

Charter Affiliate of the New York State Association of Professional Land Surveyors

P.O. Box 4399, Clifton Park, NY 12065-4399

Visit us on the web at www.envsls.org

MINUTES

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING December 14, 2023

Colliers Engineering & Design Albany, NY

President Meisler called the meeting to order at 5:58 p.m.

Present: Kaleb Winters, Richard Palmer, Lucas Boyer, Brie Meisler, Dwayne Cooper, Tim Huggins

and Luke Richardson

Absent: Lawrence O'Connor, Jason Tommell, James Vianna, Randy Paquin and Jason Peterson

Guests: Dave Schmidt

Secretary's Report: Jason Tommell

Jason was absent but the proposed November minutes were sent via email to the BOD. A motion to accept
the November meeting minutes was made by Kaleb Winters, seconded by Rick Palmer. A vote was held, and
the motion passed.

Treasurer's Report: Jim Vianna

- Jim was absent but provided an update report:
- Update on the LPL account balance and the Bank account balance.
- There were expenses of \$938.64 (The Factory for the November membership meeting), \$283.51 (Jason Tommell for ballot mailing) and \$110.00 (Jason Peterson for September webinar).
- Income in the amount of \$110 (NYSAPLS dues), \$875 (November general meeting) and \$75 (50/50 raffle).

MTS Report: Jim Vianna

- Jim was absent but provided an update report:
- There was nothing new to report. Jim is resigning from the MTS committee but will offer his help as needed/requested by the MTS committee. Jim noted that he feels ENYSLS should supply a new member to the MTS committee to ensure our Regional has a voice.

President's Report: Brie Meisler

- Brie reported that she attended the NYSAPLS BOD meeting on 11/17/2023.
- It was Roy Garfinkel's last meeting as president. He reported on attending some GeoCon as well as some committee meetings.

- Mid-Hudson has volunteered to host the 2027 conference and Nicole Kalicicki volunteered for the conference committee.
- The Constitution and Bylaws committee has drafted amendments, including committee updates, tasks clarified. They hope to get the final draft out to membership 30 days before the annual meeting.
- The DOT relations committee feels that it has gotten the attention of the DOT and believes that records management is in the forethought of many government agencies.
- The Education committee is working on the spring workshops and First Friday webinars. The NYS Specific LS
 Exam review workshop will continue but Dr. Paiva is retiring. Some other items being considered are hosting
 the CST exam at the conference, and Certified Floodplain Surveyor program, but this does not seem to be a
 priority.
- NSPS has a PowerPoint available for Workforce development events.
- The strategic planning committee once again brought up establishing a "Regional Membership Liaison for ALL Regionals.
- The Young Professionals committee would like to have the profession represented at County Fairs and the State Fair. They continue to work on YouTube shorts, and a campaign to contact school administrators to gain greater access to career fairs and school visits.
- Jeremy Thompson announced that the Ranger school has 15 survey students enrolled.
- We should expect a survey of members' employment needs, in an effort to inform existing and potential college programs.

Executive Vice President's Report: Jason Peterson

• No report.

Vice President's Report: Lucas Boyer

· No report.

Past President's Report: Kaleb Winters

- Kaleb reported that he will be serving on the Real World Perspective Panel at the Annual Conference.
- Kaleb reported that he has taken over as Chair of NYSAPLS Awards Committee. He noted that there is a meeting on December 21 to select this year's award winners.

Standing Committee Reports

Calibration Base Line (ad hoc): Randy Paquin and Rick Palmer

Constitution and By-Laws: Larry O'Connor

Continuing Education: Jody Lounsbury, Charles Lent and Eric Crampton

Ethical Practices: Larry O'Connor, Jeff Ostertag and Charles Lent

Finance: Carl Rigdon and Chris Czerw

Legislative: Larry O'Connor

Program: Randy Paquin

Public Relations: Jody Lounsbury, Eric Crampton and Brie Meisler

Scholastic Development: Randy Paquin and Kristen Darrah

Business Practice and Technical Information: Chris Czerw

Membership: Robert Wilklow and Steve Dickson

Website: Brie Meisler, Dwayne Cooper and Charles Lent

Old Business:

September minutes are waiting on details from Ft. Drum from Jason Peterson to finalize.

New Business:

- Scholarship application review. Brie noted that she has received many applications to review. She asked for
 volunteers to help her review the applications and select the winners. Luke Richardson and Lucas Boyer
 agreed to review applications with Brie and select the winners.
- Gift for Don Carpenter memorial. A motion to donate \$100 to Saratoga PLAN in Don's memory was made by Luke Richardson, seconded by Kaleb Winters. A vote was held, and the motion passed. A discussion was also held on purchasing a NSPS Final Point in Don's memory. It was decided that Jim Vianna should be a part of the conversation. A suggestion was made that we could hold an impromptu BOD meeting at the Annual Conference and have Jim call into it since he is not attending the Annual Conference this year. Dave Schmidt suggested that someone give a brief summary of Don's life and career at the next membership meeting for those who did not know Don well.
- Review of the BOD duties. President Meisler went through the officer positions and gave a summary of each position's responsibilities based upon the Constitution and By-Laws.

Upcoming Events:

1/17/2024, NYSAPLS 65TH Annual Conference, Turning Stone Resort & Casino

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Tim Huggins, seconded by Lucas Boyer was made. A vote was held, and the motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:10 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dwayne Cooper for Jason Tommell, ENYSLS Secretary

Treasurer: James Vianna

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS, INC.

President: Brie Meisler Lawrence O'Connor 2023 Lucas Boyer 2024 Dwayne Cooper 2025 Exec. Vice-President: Jason Peterson Pat VanHaverbeke 2023 Brie Meisler 2024 Jason Peterson Vice-President: Lucas Boyer Kaleh Winters 2023 Jason Tommell 2024 James Vianna 2025 Secretary: Jason Tommell Richard Palmer 2023 **Timothy Huggins** 2024 Luke Richardson