

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS

INCORPORATED

Charter Affiliate of the New York State Association of Professional Land Surveyors

P.O. Box 4399, Clifton Park, N.Y. 12065-4399

Visit us on the web at www.enysls.org

MINUTES

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING and ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING

Thursday, November 12, 2009 Crossgates Restaurant & Banquet House, Albany, NY

President Johannessen called the Board meeting to order at approximately 5:41pm

Present were: Howie Johannessen, Bob Ihlenburg, William Whimple, Bill Darling, Kristin Demers, Kevin Waldruff, Eric Crampton, Carl Rigdon and Lawrence O'Connor.

Absent were: Kurt Heiss, Gordy Matson, and Matt Bowe.

Secretary's Report: Kurt Heiss

The minutes from the October meeting were reviewed; a motion was made by Bill Darling, Seconded by Carl Rigdon, to approve the minutes with minor corrections. Motion passed.

Treasurer's Report: Bob Ihlenburg

Treasurer Ihlenburg provided a Profit and Loss Detail Sheet; a motion was made by Bill Whimple, Seconded by Kevin Waldruff, to approve the Treasurer's Report. Motion passed.

President's Report: Howie Johannessen

President Johannessen discussed the NYSAPLS Annual Conference in Saratoga in 2012 and 2013. The Board discussed creating a Conference Committee for the 2012 Conference. The Board decided to establish a committee first, then appoint a Chair. The Board requested that Secretary Heiss include a call for Conference Committee volunteers in the next mailing of the minutes to the members. Howie will mention the 2010 conference's December 1 early bird deadline to the general members.

Executive Vice-President's Report: Gordy Matson: No Report

<u>Vice-President's Report</u>: Kevin Waldruff – Nothing to Report

Committee Reports:

----Standing Committees----

Constitution & By-Laws: Bob Ihlenburg – Nothing to Report

Scholastic Development: Kristin Demers:

Kristen Demers will go to Paul Smith's and the Ranger School to conduct interviews on November 20.

Ethics and Business Practices: Don Darrah: Nothing to Report

Continuing Education: Jody Lounsbury:

The Board discussed alternatives for holding Continuing Education Courses. The cost of having seminars approved by NYSAPLS/Shaw Fund vs. PIE was discussed. It was suggested that money can't be made on full-day seminars because there are too many courses already available, and that we should pursue 1-hour dinner courses. A motion was made by Robert Ihlenburgh , second by Carl Rigdon for the committee to develop 1-hour courses to be submitted for approval to PIE. Motion passed.

<u>Finance</u>: Bill Darling – Nothing to Report.

Membership: Gordy Matson - No Report

Legislative: Larry O'Connor - Nothing to Report

Program: Bill Whimple:

Bill Whimple and Jody Lounsbury will find a presenter/topic for January meeting at Moscietello's and for the 1-hour seminars. Brad Beeler from MTS and Scott Littlefield from ADMAR will show equipment at tonight's meeting.

Public Relations: Nothing to Report

<u>Technical Information</u>: Eric Crampton – Nothing to Report

----Temporary and Ad-hoc Committees-----

Website and Archival Information: Kurt Heiss – No Report

Old Business:

Secretary Heiss correlated the NYSAPLS paid/unpaid member lists with the ENYSLS Member Roster. Any unpaid members on the Proprietor List were sent a notice that they need to renew their membership or their proprietor list entry would be removed. Two of the five responded and submitted renewal payment to NYSAPLS; three did not respond and were removed from the Proprietor List.

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS, INC.

President: C. Howard Johannessen	Matthew Bowe	2010	Bill Darling	2011	C. Howard Johannessen	2012
Exec. Vice-President: Gordon Matson	Kevin Waldruff	2010	Kurt Heiss	2011	Gordon Matson	2012
Vice-President: Kevin Waldruff	William Whimple	2010	Robert J. Ihlenburg	2011	Lawrence J. O'Connor	2012
Secretary: Kurt Heiss	Eric Crampton	2010	Carl Rigdon	2011	Kristin Demers	2012
Treasurer: Robert J. Ihlenburg	-		_		Past President -	William Whimple

New Business:

No New Business.

A motion to temporarily adjourn was made by Bill Whimple, seconded by Kevin Waldruff, and the Board temporarily adjourned for the Annual Meeting and dinner at approximately 6:27pm.

The Annual Membership Meeting followed dinner and included a brief discussion of Society Business and vendor presentations. A panel of Tellers was established by President Johannessen (Tellers were Brian Magee and Michael Cirillo) and the tellers met to count ballots and tally the vote. The Tellers returned and it was announced that the following members were elected to the Board of Directors:

Eric Crampton, Don Darrah and Carl Rigdon (Senior Directors) Mike Gaines (Associate/Intern Director, three-year term) Kaleb Winters (Associate/Intern Director, one-year term)

The Board meeting was reconvened.

Kristen Demers nominated Don Darrah for Vice President, seconded by Kevin Waldruff. Larry O'Connor nominated Eric Crampton for Executive Vice President, seconded by Robert Ihlenburgh.

The Board elected the following as Officers for 2010:

President – C. Howard Johannessen Executive Vice-President – Eric Crampton Vice-President – Don Darrah Secretary – Kurt Heiss Treasurer – Robert Ihlenburg

The Board and Annual Meetings were adjourned at approximately 9:02pm.

The next meeting of the ENYSLS Board of Directors will be held on Thursday, December 10th, 2009, at the the offices of Tommell & Associates in Saratoga Springs, NY

The next ENYSLS General Membership Meeting will be held on Thursday, January 7th, 2010, at Moscatiello's Restaurant, in Troy, NY.

Respectfully Submitted, Kurt J. Heiss, L.S. ENYSLS Secretary heisskj953@roadrunner.com

By Notes provided by Eric Crampton

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS, INC.

President: C. Howard Johannessen Matthew Bowe 2010 **Bill Darling** 2011 C. Howard Johannessen 2012 Exec. Vice-President: Gordon Matson Kevin Waldruff 2010 **Kurt Heiss** 2011 Gordon Matson 2012 Vice-President: Kevin Waldruff William Whimple 2010 Robert J. Ihlenburg 2011 Lawrence J. O'Connor 2012 Secretary: Kurt Heiss **Eric Crampton** Carl Rigdon 2011 2012 Kristin Demers

Treasurer: Robert J. Ihlenburg Past President - William Whimple