

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS INCORPORATED

Charter Affiliate of the New York State Association of Professional Land Surveyors

P.O. Box 4399, Clifton Park, N.Y. 12065-4399

Visit us on the web at www.enysls.org

MINUTES BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

January 19, 2012 The Factory, Ballston Spa, NY

President Richard Bennett called the meeting to order at 5:55pm

Present were: Howie Johannessen, Richard Bennett, Randy Paquin, Bob Wilklow, Eric Crampton, Carl Rigdon, Michael Gaines and Dan Peeters.

Absent: Lee Lurie, Don Darrah, Larry O'Connor, Kristin Demers, Chris Czerw

Secretary's Report

There was no report due to not having a quorum for the December meeting.

Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer's report was submitted by Eric Crampton. Motion was made by Carl Rigdon, seconded by Howie Johannessen. The motion passed.

President's Report

- NYSAPLS Meeting January 8-11, 2012 discussion of NYSAPLS raising dues.
- Amber Anderson said that she was very happy with the way Eastern stepped up as the sponsor for this year's conference and said to say thank you to all that pitched in and volunteered.
- A motion was made by Randy Paquin to pay the shipping expenses to mail back items that Milton Denny donated for the historical exhibit, seconded by Howie Johannessen. The motion passed.
- Discussion about helping Kurt Heiss update the website and the Proprietors list, Randy Paquin volunteered to look into updating the Proprietors list.

Executive Vice President's Report

Nothing to report

Vice President's Report

Nothing to report

STANDING COMMITTEES

Constitution & By-laws: nothing to report

Continuing Education: nothing to report

Ethics: nothing to report

Finance: nothing to report

Legislative: nothing to report

<u>Program:</u> The March meeting will be a webinar presented by NYSAPLS for continuing education credit with a topic to be determined at a later date. The meeting will be held at The Crossgates Banquet House on Washington Avenue Extension, Albany, NY on March 8, 2012. Discussed waving the extra fee charged for the webinar due to the success of the conference and the anticipated \$5,000 check from NYSAPLS for sponsoring this year's conference Eastern will cover the additional cost.

Public Relations: nothing to report

Scholastic Development: No report at this time – See General Membership meeting minutes.

Business Practice & Technical Information: nothing to report

Membership: Nothing to report.

TEMPORARY COMMITTEES

Website: nothing to report

Conference Committee: No report at this time – See General Membership meeting minutes.

Next Board of Directors meeting will be 5:30 pm on Thursday February 9, 2012 at C.T. Male

A motion was made to temporarily adjourn the meeting at 6:40 pm by Randy Paquin, seconded by Howie Johannessen.

GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING

President Richard Bennett called the meeting to order at 7:50pm

- President Bennett presented a plaque to recognize past President Howie Johannessen for his time and work as outgoing President.
- Past president Howie Johannessen also presented a plaque to Bill Whimple for his past service as President.

<u>Conference Committee</u>: Brian Magee gave a brief report of the success of this year's conference and circulated an email from Amber Anderson thanking Eastern for their help and support during the 53rd Annual Conference. There was also a brief discussion about possibly reinstating the hospitality room for next year's conference.

<u>Scholastic Development</u>: Kristin Demers announced that the scholarships were awarded at the conference. Three scholarships were awarded each for \$500.00. 1 for a Paul Smith's student, 1 for an Alfred student and 1 for a Wanakena student. The Charles Hartnett scholarship was also awarded in the amount of \$500.00 to another Wanakena student. Reminder about Shadow day with the Paul Smith's students on April 12, 2012.

Joseph Malinowski Executive Vice President of NYSAPLS announced that NYSAPLS is looking into a dues increase of about \$25, the last increase was in 2003. Nothing is set in stone and all the regionals have a chance to vote for or against the increase.

President Bennett encouraged members to sign up for committees and also announced the next General Membership meeting will be held at The Crossgates Banquet House on Washington Avenue Extension, Albany, NY on March 8, 2012. The meeting will be a NYSAPLS webinar with the topic yet to be announced. Due to the success of the conference and the anticipated \$5,000 check from NYSAPLS for sponsoring this year's conference Eastern will cover the additional cost for the webinar for the continuing education credit.

Howie Johannessen gave a brief report about the 53rd annual conference and wanted everybody to recognize the good job and hard work that Brian Magee did as the Conference Committee Chair.

Old Business – none

New Business – Joseph Malinowski suggested trying to make it easier for students to apply for the scholarships offered by Eastern.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:27pm with a motion from Randy Paquin, and a second from Eric Crampton.

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS, INC.

2014 President: Richard Bennett **Eric Crampton** 2013 Randel Paquin Lawrence O'Connor 2015 Exec. Vice-President: Carl Rigdon Don Darrah Kristin Demers 2013 Lee Lurie 2014 2015 Vice-President: Kristin Demers 2014 Carl Rigdon 2013 Richard Bennett **Daniel Peeters** 2015 Secretary: Robert Wilklow Robert Wilklow Mike Gaines 2014 Past President -: C. Howard Johannessen **Treasurer: Eric Crampton**

The next meeting of the ENYSLS Board of Directors will be held **Thursday**, **February 9**, **2012** at C.T. Male Associates.

Respectfully Submitted, Robert A. Wilklow, PLS ENYSLS Secretary bwilklow@gvglandsurveyors.com

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS, INC.

President: Richard Bennett Exec. Vice-President: Carl Rigdon Vice-President: Kristin Demers Secretary: Robert Wilklow Treasurer: Eric Crampton Eric Crampton 2013 Randel Paquin
Don Darrah 2013 Lee Lurie
Carl Rigdon 2013 Richard Bennett
Mike Gaines 2013 Robert Wilklow

 2014
 Lawrence O'Connor
 2015

 2014
 Kristin Demers
 2015

 2014
 Daniel Peeters
 2015

 2014
 Chris Czerw
 2015

 Past President - : C. Howard Johannessen