

# EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS INCORPORATED

Charter Affiliate of the New York State Association of Professional Land Surveyors

P.O. Box 4399, Clifton Park, N.Y. 12065-4399

Visit us on the web at www.enysls.org

# MINUTES BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

December 13, 2012 The Century House, 997 Old Loudon Road (Rte.9) Latham, NY

President Richard Bennett called the meeting to order at 6:05 pm

Present were: Eric Crampton, Carl Rigdon, Randy Paquin, Lee Lurie, Richard Bennett, Robert Wilklow, Kristin Demers and Jason Peterson.

Absent: Don Darrah, Michael Gaines, Larry O'Connor, Daniel Peeters, Chris Czerw and Howie Johannessen.

#### Secretary's Report - Robert Wilklow

• Minutes from the November Board of Directors and General Membership meetings were submitted for review by the Board Members. A motion was made by Randy Paquin to accept the minutes, with revisions seconded by Carl Rigdon. The motion was passed.

#### Treasurer's Report - Eric Crampton

- The Treasurer's report was submitted by Eric Crampton. Motion was made by Kristin Demers to receive the report seconded by Robert Wilklow. The motion passed.
- Discussed changing the Investment account in order to get better interest rates. Rich recommended that Carl and the finance committee review the recommendations from The Glens Falls National Bank. Also discussed transferring some of the money in the checking account into the investment account.

#### **President's Report – Richard Bennett**

- Rich attended the November 16th NYSAPLS BOD and gave a brief review of the meeting.
- Rich said that he has talking with Kurt Heiss about the website and that he would be working with Kurt and update the website himself.
- Joe Malinowski is working on the application for the life time achievement award for Charles Hartnett.
- The conference advertisement was submitted to NYSAPLS for the January Conference.

## **Executive Vice President's Report – Carl Rigdon**

• Nothing to report.

# **Vice President's Report – Kristin Demers**

• Nothing to report.

### STANDING COMMITTEES

Constitution & By-laws: Larry O'Connor, Bill Schraa: No report

Continuing Education: Jody Lounsbury, Chuck Lent: no report

Ethics: Jim Vianna, Larry O'Connor, Jeff Ostertag, Kevin Rounds: no report

Finance: Carl Rigdon, Michael Cirillo, Bill Darling: no report

Legislative: Larry O'Connor: no report

**Program:** Randy Paquin, Charles Hartnett, Gary Michell:

• The January General Membership meeting is tentatively scheduled to be held at Ravenswood on Route 146 in Clifton Park on Thursday January 17, 2013. The meeting had to be rescheduled due to a conflict with the conference. The program will be determined at a later date.

Public Relations: Jody Lounsbury, Jim Vianna: no report

Scholastic Development: Kristin Demers:

• A total of 5 applicants were received for the scholarships. 4 were received from the Ranger School and 1 was received from Paul Smith's. 1 - \$500.00 scholarship was awarded for the Hartnett Scholarship, 1- \$500.00 scholarship was awarded to the Paul Smith applicant and 2 - \$500.00 scholarships were awarded to 2 of the Ranger School applicants.

Business Practice & Technical Information: Chris Czerw: no report

Membership: Robert Wilklow, Steve Dickson, Lee Lurie: no report.

Website: working on the change over.

#### **TEMPORARY COMMITTEES**

Old Business: none

New Business: none

Next Board of Directors meeting is tentatively scheduled at 5:30 pm on Thursday January 17, 2013 at Ravenswood in Clifton Park.

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 7:25 pm by Randy Paquin, seconded by Carl Rigdon.

Respectfully Submitted, Robert A. Wilklow, PLS ENYSLS Secretary bwilklow@gvglandsurveyors.com

# EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS, INC.

President: Richard Bennett Exec. Vice-President: Carl Rigdon Vice-President: Kristin Demers Secretary: Robert Wilklow Treasurer: Eric Crampton

2013 Randel Paquin **Eric Crampton** 2014 Lawrence O'Connor 2015 2013 2015 2014 Don Darrah Lee Lurie Kristin Demers Carl Rigdon 2013 **Richard Bennett** 2014 **Daniel Peeters** 2015 Mike Gaines 2013 Robert Wilklow 2014 Chris Czerw 2015 Past President: C. Howard Johannessen