

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS INCORPORATED

Charter Affiliate of the New York State Association of Professional Land Surveyors

P.O. Box 4399, Clifton Park, N.Y. 12065-4399

Visit us on the web at www.enysls.org

MINUTES BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

February 13, 2013 On Tap Sports Bar 400 Old Loudon Road, Latham, NY 12110

President Richard Bennett called the meeting to order at 5:55pm

Present were: Randy Paquin, Richard Bennett, Robert Wilklow, Kristin Demers, Eric Crampton, Brie Strom, Lee Lurie, Larry O'Connor, Chris Czerw and Howie Johannessen.

Absent: Daniel Peeters, Greg Kovach and Jason Peterson.

Secretary's Report – Robert Wilklow

- Minutes from the January General Membership meeting were submitted by Robert Wilklow for review by the Board Members. The minutes were approved with revisions.
- A thank you note was received from Philip Currier for the Charles Hartnett scholarship.

Treasurer's Report – Eric Crampton

• The Treasurer's report was submitted by Eric Crampton for review. The report was accepted with changes by the Board.

President's Report – Richard Bennett

- Rich recommended transferring money from the checking account into the LPL Investment Account. The Board agreed on transferring \$5,000.00 into the Investment account.
- Rich also recommended transferring money out of the money market account into an Income Portfolio Fund. A motion was made by Randy Paquin to transfer all of the money from the Money Market Account and the \$5,000.00 from the checking account into the Income Portfolio Fund, seconded by Brie Strom. The motion was passed.
- Discussed the BOCES Shadow Day and decided to move ahead and try to schedule with the Warren, Washington, Saratoga, Hamilton and Essex County BOCES program for a shadow day.

Executive Vice President's Report – Kristin Demers

• Reviewed the supplemental duties and responsibilities of BOD and committees.

Vice President's Report – Randy Paquin:

• No report.

STANDING COMMITTEES:

Nominating Committee: Jody Lounsbury: nothing to report.

Constitution & By-laws: Larry O'Connor, Bill Schraa:

• Continue to look into changing the Fiscal year and the budget due date.

Continuing Education: Jody Lounsbury, Chuck Lent: nothing to report

Ethics: Jim Vianna, Larry O'Connor, Jeff Ostertag, Kevin Rounds: nothing to report

Finance: Carl Rigdon, Bill Darling, Chris Czerw: nothing to report

Legislative: Larry O'Connor: nothing to report

Program: Randy Paquin, Charles Hartnett, Gary Michell:

- The March meeting will be rescheduled to the first Thursday, March 7th, to coincide with the reshowing of the NYSAPLS sponsored webinar and held at the Crossgates Banquet House on Washington Avenue Extension in Albany.
- Randy asked for ideas for upcoming general membership meetings.

Public Relations: Jody Lounsbury: nothing to report

Scholastic Development: Kristin Demers, Randy Paquin:

Business Practice & Technical Information: Chris Czerw: nothing to report

Membership: Robert Wilklow, Steve Dickson: Nothing to report.

Website: Richard Bennett:

• Rich has added the missing 2012 minutes to the website and updated the committee and proprietors lists as well as the meeting pages.

Old Business: None

New Business:

• Rich Bennett recommended updating the handbook due to the outdated information that is currently in the handbook.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:35 with a motion from Larry O'Connor, seconded by Eric Crampton.

The next General Membership meeting will be March 7, 2013 at Crossgates Banquet House on Washington Avenue Extension in Albany and will be the reshowing of the NYSAPLS webinar that will be good for one continuing credit hour.

Respectfully Submitted, Robert A. Wilklow, PLS ENYSLS Secretary bwilklow@gvglandsurveyors.com

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS, INC.

President: Richard Bennett Randel Paquin 2014 Lawrence O'Connor 2015 **Eric Crampton** 2016 **Exec. Vice-President: Kristin Demers** 2014 2015 Jason Peterson 2016 Lee Lurie Kristin Demers Vice-President: Randy Paquin **Richard Bennett** 2014 **Daniel Peeters** 2015 **Brie Strom** 2016 Secretary: Robert Wilklow Robert Wilklow 2014 Chris Czerw 2015 **Greg Kovach** 2016 Treasurer: Eric Crampton Past President: C. Howard Johannessen