

## EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS INCORPORATED

Charter Affiliate of the New York State Association of Professional Land Surveyors

P.O. Box 4399, Clifton Park, N.Y. 12065-4399

Visit us on the web at www.enysls.org

# MINUTES BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

November 14, 2013 Shaker Ridge Country Club 802 Albany Shaker Road, Albany, NY

President Richard Bennett called the meeting to order at 5:45 pm.

Present were: Randy Paquin, Richard Bennett, Robert Wilklow, Lee Lurie, Kristin Demers, Chris Czerw, Eric Crampton, Greg Kovach, Brie Strom and Howie Johannessen.

Absent: Larry O'Connor, Daniel Peeters and Jason Peterson.

#### Secretary's Report - Robert Wilklow

• Minutes from the October Board of Directors meeting were submitted by Robert Wilklow for review by the Board Members. A motion was made by Randy Paquin to accept the minutes with revisions, seconded by Lee Lurie. The motion was passed.

#### **Treasurer's Report – Eric Crampton**

• The Treasurer's report was submitted by Eric Crampton.

#### **President's Report – Richard Bennett**

- The NYSAPLS BOD meeting will be held November 15<sup>th</sup> in Rochester.
- The continuing Education Law is about to sunset. NYSAPLS is suggesting increasing the total number of CEU's, most responses from the general membership said they would not like an increase
- NYSAPLS is looking for sponsors for the 2017 & 2018 conferences.
- The Federal and State checks for taxes have not been cashed yet, still waiting for responses.
- Thank you to Lester Denison for his work as Chairman for the Nominating Committee.
- The conference Ad is due soon. Brie Strom has a draft ready for review. The ad was approved after minor updates to the members list.
- The proposed 2014 budget needs to be revised to show a balanced budget. Chris Czerw volunteered to revise the proposed budget.

### **Executive Vice President's Report – Kristin Demers**

• Reported that she received an email from Scott Allen, from Northern Regional, thanking Eastern for their donation to the Creighton Fee Plaque.

#### Vice President's Report - Randy Paquin

• No report.

#### **STANDING COMMITTEES:**

Constitution & By-laws: Larry O'Connor, Bill Schraa, Randy Paquin:

• NYSAPLS had a question about Eastern's membership fee schedule, is there a provision for an affiliate member?

Continuing Education: Jody Lounsbury, Chuck Lent, Eric Crampton: nothing to report

Ethics: Jim Vianna, Larry O'Connor, Jeff Ostertag, Kevin Rounds: nothing to report

Finance: Carl Rigdon, Bill Darling, Chris Czerw: The 2014 budget was submitted for review.

Legislative: Larry O'Connor: nothing to report

Program: Randy Paquin, Charles Hartnett, Gary Michell:

• January General membership meeting will be January 9, 2014 at a location to be determined. Discussed the possibility of having an open discussion/workshop instead of having a speaker.

Public Relations: Jody Lounsbury: nothing to report

<u>Scholastic Development:</u> Kristin Demers, Randy Paquin: Reported receiving 6 applications for the scholarships, 1 from Alfred, 2 from Paul Smith's and 3 from Ranger School.

Business Practice & Technical Information: Chris Czerw: nothing to report

Membership: Robert Wilklow, Steve Dickson: nothing to report.

Website: Richard Bennett: nothing to report

#### **TEMPORARY COMMITTEES**

#### Old Business:

- Long Island Surveyors still have the tallest tree challenge.
- Jim Allen and Rich Bennett are trying to setup a meeting with The New Netherlands Institute, to see what help they may need in translating some of the Old Dutch maps.

New Business: none

Temporarily adjourned at 6:50 pm.

#### GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING

President Richard Bennett called the meeting to order at 7:45 pm.

Annual Elections: Nominations were opened to the floor. No nominations. A motion to close nominations by Randy Paquin second by Robert Wilklow, approved.

Thanks to the nominating committee, Lester Denison, for this year's candidates. Les and Chris Czerw adjourned to count the ballots.

President Richard Bennett announced to the General Membership about the continuing Education Law is about to sunset and NYSAPLS proposal to increase the number of CEU's and opened to the floor for discussion. The majority of people in attendance were opposed to the increase. Rich also announced that NYSAPLS is looking for sponsors for the 2017 & 2018 conferences.

Election Results: Senior Members: Randy Paquin, Robert Wilklow and Ralph Hill Associate Member: Lee Lurie

The changes to the bylaws and constitution were also approved.

Jim Vianna began a power point presentation on the Surveyors Rendezvous Historical Society that he attended in Philadelphia. The topic covered was establishing the Mason Dixon line. Jim discussed how the program was setup with class discussion as well as hands on retracement and interaction. Jim asked the membership if they would be interested in the program coming to New York and that the Society had openings in 2016 and 2017 and needed a preliminary proposal by March 2014.

The Board of Directors adjourned to vote for officers for 2014.

Nominations by Rich Bennett seconded by Howie Johannessen:

President Kristin Demers
Executive Vice President Randy Paquin
Vice President Brie Strom
Treasurer Eric Crampton
Secretary Robert Wilklow

Motion for the secretary to cast one ballot for each position. Approved

Rich announced the new Officers to the membership and requested a chairperson for the program committee.

Old Business – none

New Business -none

The meeting was adjourned at 9:10 pm with a motion from Brie Strom, and a second from Chuck Lent.

The next General Membership meeting will be January 9, 2014. The date and location will be announced at a later date.

Respectfully Submitted, Robert A. Wilklow, PLS ENYSLS Secretary bwilklow@gvglandsurveyors.com

### EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS, INC.

President: Richard Bennett Exec. Vice-President: Kristin Demers Vice-President: Randy Paquin Secretary: Robert Wilklow Treasurer: Eric Crampton

Randel Paquin	2014	Lawrence O'Connor	2015	Eric Crampton	2016
Lee Lurie	2014	Kristin Demers	2015	Jason Peterson	2016
Richard Bennett	2014	Daniel Peeters	2015	Brie Strom	2016
Robert Wilklow	2014	Chris Czerw	2015	Greg Kovach	2016
			Past President: C. Howard Johannessen		