

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS

INCORPORATED

Charter Affiliate of the New York State Association of Professional Land Surveyors

P.O. Box 4399, Clifton Park, N.Y. 12065-4399

Visit us on the web at www.enysls.org

MINUTES BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

February 13, 2014 Wolf's 1-11 Restaurant & Games 111 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205

President Kristin Demers called the meeting to order at 5:45pm

Present were: Kristin Demers, Randy Paquin, Brie Strom, Eric Crampton, Robert Wilklow, Ralph Hill, Larry O'Connor and Daniel Peeters.

Absent: Greg Kovach, Richard Bennett, Jason Peterson, Chris Czerw and Lee Lurie.

Secretary's Report – Robert Wilklow

• Minutes from the January Board of Directors and General membership meeting were reviewed by the Board Members. A motion was made by Larry O'Connor, seconded by Eric Crampton to accept the minutes. The motion was passed.

Treasurer's Report – Eric Crampton

- Eric submitted a verbal report and stated that the written/spreadsheet report will be submitted at the next meeting in March.
- The checks mailed to the IRS still have not been cashed for last year's taxes and penalties.

President's Report – Kristin Demers

- Scholarships were awarded by Kristin and Randy on behalf of Eastern to Ryan May of Wanakena, ESF Ranger School, Michael Yacuzzo of Alfred State College and Robbie LaLonde of Paul Smith's College in the amount of \$1,000.00 each. The Charles Hartnett scholarship was awarded to Sean Flanagan also of The Ranger School in the amount of \$500.00.
- The continuing Education Law is set to sunset, a bill is being submitted to extend the current standards for another 10 years.
- NYSAPLS is looking for sponsors for the 2017 conference being held at The Turning Stone Resort and for the 2018 conference at a location still to be determined.
- NYSAPLS is working on revising the strategic plan in 2014 and would like input from the members about goals, direction and benefits the membership would like to see happen.

- The State Education Department is reviewing NYSAPLS continuing education credit rules and allowances.
- The next NYSAPLS BOD meeting will be held March 21, 2014.

Executive Vice President's Report – Randy Paquin

No report

Vice President's Report Brie Strom

No report

STANDING COMMITTEES:

Constitution & By-laws: Larry O'Connor, Bill Schraa and Randy Paquin: No report.

<u>Continuing Education:</u> Jody Lounsbury, Chuck Lent and Larry O'Connor: No report.

Ethics: Jim Vianna, Jeff Ostertag and Kevin Rounds: No report.

Finance: Bill Darling and Chris Czerw: No report.

<u>Legislative</u>: Larry O'Connor: No report.

Program: Randy Paquin, Larry O'Connor:

- Randy stated again that he would like to step down from the Program Committee.
- The next General Membership meeting March 13th will probably be a NYSAPLS webinar depending on the topic. The meeting is tentatively to be held at The Shaker Ridge Country Club.

Public Relations: Jody Lounsbury, Brie Strom: No report.

Scholastic Development: Kristin Demers and Randy Paquin:

• The scholarships were presented at the conference (refer to the President's report for student names and amounts)

Business Practice & Technical Information: Chris Czerw: No report.

Membership: Robert Wilklow and Steve Dickson: No report.

Website: Richard Bennett: No report

Old Business: None

New Business: Larry O'Connor made a motion to donate \$100.00 in memory of Paul Tommell to a memorial account established in his name at the Adirondack Trust Co. seconded by Randy Paquin. The motion passed.

The next BOD and General Membership meeting will be March 13, 2014 tentatively scheduled at the Shaker Ridge Country Club in Colonie and will be a NYSAPLS webinar.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:00 with a motion by Eric Crampton, seconded by Randy Paquin.

Respectfully Submitted, Robert A. Wilklow, PLS ENYSLS Secretary bwilklow@gvglandsurveyors.com

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS, INC.

President: Kristin Demers Exec. Vice-President: Randel Paquin Vice-President: Brie Strom Secretary: Robert Wilklow Treasurer: Eric Crampton

Lawrence O'Connor	2015	Eric Crampton	2016	Randel Paquin	2017
Kristin Demers	2015	Jason Peterson	2016	Robert Wilklow	2017
Daniel Peeters	2015	Brie Strom	2016	Ralph Hill	2017
Chris Czerw	2015	Greg Kovach	2016	Lee Lurie	2017
		_	Past President: Richard Rennett		