

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS

INCORPORATED

Charter Affiliate of the New York State Association of Professional Land Surveyors

P.O. Box 4399, Clifton Park, N.Y. 12065-4399

Visit us on the web at www.enysls.org

MINUTES BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

March 13, 2014 Shaker Ridge Country Club 802 Albany Shaker Road, Albany, NY

President Kristin Demers called the meeting to order at 5:45pm

Present were: Kristin Demers, Randy Paquin, Brie Strom, Daniel Peeters, Robert Wilklow, Jason Peterson, Ralph Hill, Lee Lurie, Chris Czerw, Greg Kovach and Richard Bennett.

Absent: Larry O'Connor and Eric Crampton.

Secretary's Report – Robert Wilklow

 Minutes from the February Board of Directors meeting were reviewed by the Board members. A motion was made by Randy Paquin, seconded by Ralph Hill to accept the minutes with revisions. The motion was passed.

Treasurer's Report – Eric Crampton

• Last month's Treasurer's report and the current Treasurer's report were both submitted by Eric and accepted by the Board.

President's Report – Kristin Demers

- The next NYSAPLS BOD meeting will be held March 21.
- The continuing Ed Law is to sunset-bill is being submitted to extend for another 10 years as is
- NYSAPLS is looking for sponsors for the 2017 (Turning Stone) and 2018 (undecided) conferences.
- IRS and State still have not cashed checks from about August 2013.
- Donation made in memory of Paul Tommell.

Executive Vice President's Report – Randy Paquin

• No report

Vice President's Report Brie Strom

No report

STANDING COMMITTEES:

Constitution & By-laws: Larry O'Connor, Bill Schraa, Randy Paquin and Ralph Hill: No report.

Continuing Education: Jody Lounsbury, Chuck Lent and Larry O'Connor: No report.

Ethics: Jim Vianna, Jeff Ostertag and Kevin Rounds: No report.

Finance: Bill Darling and Chris Czerw: No report.

Legislative: Larry O'Connor: No report.

Program: Randy Paquin and Larry O'Connor:

• The next General Membership meeting May 8th program and location T.B.D.

Public Relations: Jody Lounsbury, Brie Strom: No report.

Scholastic Development: Kristin Demers and Randy Paquin:

• Kristin announced that Robbie LaLonde from Paul Smith's College sent a thank you note for the \$1,000.00 scholarship

Business Practice & Technical Information: Chris Czerw: No report.

Membership: Robert Wilklow and Steve Dickson: No report.

Website: Richard Bennett:

• Rich stated that he has updated the website with the latest minutes.

Old Business: None

New Business: None

The next BOD meeting will be April 10, 2014 at a location to be determined.

The meeting was temporarily adjourned at 6:20.

GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING

President Kristin Demers called the meeting to order at 6:55pm.

NYSAPLS webinar Professional Ethics for the Surveyor and Engineers presented by Milton Denny began at 7:00.

After the webinar Kristin told the members in attendance about the issues involving the continuing education credits. Joe Malinowski also stated that NYSAPLS stands behind their point of view of what constitutes an hour of credit and is working with the State Ed Dept. on resolving this issue. Joe also said that he would like to have input from the Regionals if they would like to see changes within NYSAPLS or if they have any concerns or comments to let him know. Jim Vianna and the Colvin Crew submitted a report and presentation to the Surveyors Rendezvous Historical Society to try to have the Historical Society do a program in upstate New York.

Old Business: None

New Business: None

A motion to adjourn was made by Randy Paquin, seconded by Rich Bennett. The motion passed and the meeting was adjourned at 8:11pm.

The next General Membership meeting will be May 8, 2014 at a location and program T.B.D.

Respectfully Submitted, Robert A. Wilklow, PLS ENYSLS Secretary bwilklow@gvglandsurveyors.com

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS, INC.

President: Kristin Demers Exec. Vice-President: Randel Paquin Vice-President: Brie Strom Secretary: Robert Wilklow Treasurer: Eric Crampton Lawrence O'Connor 2015 Kristin Demers 2015 Daniel Peeters 2015 Chris Czerw 2015

Eric Crampton Jason Peterson Brie Strom Greg Kovach

2016 Randel Paquin 2016 Robert Wilklow 2016 Ralph Hill 2016 Lee Lurie

2016 Lee Lurie Past President: Richard Bennett