

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS

INCORPORATED

Charter Affiliate of the New York State Association of Professional Land Surveyors

P.O. Box 4399, Clifton Park, N.Y. 12065-4399

Visit us on the web at www.enysls.org

MINUTES BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

April 10, 2014 The Mill on Round Lake 2121 Route 9, Round Lake NY 12151

President Kristin Demers called the meeting to order at 5:51pm

Present were: Kristin Demers, Randy Paquin, Brie Strom, Eric Crampton, Robert Wilklow, Ralph Hill, Greg Kovach, Lee Lurie and Richard Bennett.

Absent: Jason Peterson, Chris Czerw, Larry O'Connor and Daniel Peeters.

Secretary's Report – Robert Wilklow

 Minutes from the March Board of Directors and General membership meeting were reviewed by the Board Members. A motion was made by Randy Paquin, seconded by Brie Strom to accept the minutes. The motion was passed.

Treasurer's Report – Eric Crampton

• The Treasurer's report was submitted by Eric and accepted by The Board.

President's Report – Kristin Demers

- The continuing Education Law is set to sunset, a bill is being submitted to extend the current standards for another 10 years.
- NYSAPLS is looking for sponsors for the 2017 conference being held at The Turning Stone Resort and for the 2018 conference at a location still to be determined, possibly Saratoga or Albany Convention Center?
- NYSAPLS is working on revising the strategic plan in 2014 and would like input from the
 members about goals, direction and benefits the membership would like to see happen.
 NYSAPLS would like 1 regular member and 1 associate member from each region as a
 representative.
- The State Education Department is reviewing NYSAPLS continuing education credit rules and allowances.
- IRS/NYS tax exempt status still waiting for responses and the checks still have not been cashed. Richard Bennett is working on issues with filing the "e-post card" The IRS has

our fiscal year ending in June instead of January. Rich is going to meet with the accountant that helped get our tax exempt status reinstated. Rich suggested that a balance sheet be completed at the end of the year and have the finance committee review it.

• The next NYSAPLS BOD meeting will be held May 16, 2014.

Executive Vice President's Report – Randy Paquin

No report

Vice President's Report Brie Strom

• No report

STANDING COMMITTEES:

Constitution & By-laws: Larry O'Connor, Bill Schraa and Randy Paquin: No report.

Continuing Education: Jody Lounsbury, Chuck Lent and Larry O'Connor: No report.

Ethics: Jim Vianna, Jeff Ostertag and Kevin Rounds: No report.

Finance: Bill Darling and Chris Czerw: No report.

<u>Legislative:</u> Larry O'Connor: No report.

Program: Randy Paquin, Larry O'Connor:

• The next General Membership meeting will be May 8, 2014 at a location and program to be determined.

<u>Public Relations:</u> Jody Lounsbury, Brie Strom: No report.

Scholastic Development: Kristin Demers and Randy Paquin:

Business Practice & Technical Information: Chris Czerw: No report.

Membership: Robert Wilklow and Steve Dickson: No report.

Website: Richard Bennett: No report

Old Business: None

New Business:

- Rich Bennett, Kristin Demers and Jim Vianna had a survey lab at the Warren/Washington BOCES and showed about 15 students how to take field measurements and reduce them in the classroom.
- Looking for volunteers to be on the conference committee.

The next BOD and General Membership meeting will be May 8, 2014 at a location and program to be determined.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:35 with a motion by Randy Paquin, seconded by Eric Crampton.

Respectfully Submitted, Robert A. Wilklow, PLS ENYSLS Secretary bwilklow@gvglandsurveyors.com

EASTERN NEW YORK SOCIETY OF LAND SURVEYORS, INC.

President: Kristin Demers Exec. Vice-President: Randel Paquin Vice-President: Brie Strom Secretary: Robert Wilklow Treasurer: Eric Crampton

Lawrence O'Connor	2015	Eric Crampton	2016	Randel Paquin	2017
Kristin Demers	2015	Jason Peterson	2016	Robert Wilklow	2017
Daniel Peeters	2015	Brie Strom	2016	Ralph Hill	2017
Chris Czerw	2015	Greg Kovach	2016	Lee Lurie	2017
			Past President: Richard Rennett		